

®

Laureates contributing to the Online Science Days 2020

#	Name	Discipline	Year of Award	Reasoning for Award	Year of Birth	Attendance in Lindau
1	Frances H. Arnold	Chemistry	2018	For the directed evolution of enzymes	1956	
2	Abhijit Banerjee	Economic Sciences	2019	For their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.	1961	
3	Barry C. Barish	Physics	2017	For decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves	1936	
4	J. Georg Bednorz	Physics	1987	For their important break-through in the discovery of superconductivity in ceramic materials	1950	1988 1991 1994 1995 1997 2019
5	Bruce A. Beutler	Physiology or Medicine	2011	For their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity	1957	2014 2015 2018
6	Elizabeth H. Blackburn	Physiology or Medicine	2009	For the discovery of how chromosomes are protected by telomeres and the enzyme telomerase	1948	2011 2014 2015 2018
7	Martin Chalfie	Chemistry	2008	For the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP	1947	2009 2010 2013 2014 2015 2017 2018
8	Steven Chu	Physics	1997	For development of methods to cool and trap atoms with laser light	1948	2000 2001 2013 2014 2015 2016 2018 2019
9	Sir Angus S. Deaton	Economic Sciences	2015	For his analysis of consumption, poverty, and welfare.	1945	
10	Peter A. Diamond	Economic Sciences	2010	For their analysis of markets with search frictions	1940	2011 2014 2017



®

#	Name	Discipline	Year of Award	Reasoning for Award	Year of Birth	Attendance in Lindau
11	Peter C. Doherty	Physiology or Medicine	1996	For the discoveries concerning the specificity of the cell mediated immune defence	1940	1999 2015 2018
12	Esther Duflo	Economic Sciences	2019	For their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.	1972	
13	Edmond H. Fischer	Physiology or Medicine	1992	For their discoveries concerning reversible protein phosphorylation as a biological regulatory mechanism	1920	2015 2014 2013 2011 2010 2007 2003 2000 1999 1996 1993
14	David J. Gross	Physics	2004	For the discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction	1941	2005 2008 2010 2012 2015 2016 2019
15	Serge Haroche	Physics	2012	For ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems	1944	2013 2015 2016 2019
16	Jules A. Hoffmann	Physiology or Medicine	2011	For their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity	1941	2014 2015 2018
17	Bengt R. Holmström	Economic Sciences	2016	For their contributions to contract theory.	1949	2017
18	Michael R. Kremer	Economic Sciences	2019	For their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.	1964	
19	Michael Levitt	Chemistry	2013	for the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems	1947	2018
20	Hartmut Michel	Chemistry	1988	For the determination of the three-dimensional structure of a photosynthetic reaction centre	1948	1989 1993 1995 1996 1998 2001 2002 2003 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019



®

#	Name	Discipline	Year of Award	Reasoning for Award	Year of Birth	Attendance in Lindau
21	William E. Moerner	Chemistry	2014	For the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscop	1953	2015 2017 2019
22	Mario J. Molina	Chemistry	1995	For their work in atmospheric chemistry, particularly concerning the formation and decomposition of ozone	1943	1998 2000 2009 2012 2013 2017
23	Edvard I. Moser	Physiology or Medicine	2014	For their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain	1962	2018
24	Erwin Neher	Physiology or Medicine	1991	For their discoveries concerning the function of single ion channels in cells	1944	1993 1996 1999 2000 2003 2006 2007 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2017 2018
25	Sir Konstantin S. Novoselov	Physics	2010	For groundbreaking experiments regarding the two- dimensional material graphene	1974	2019
26	Saul Perlmutter	Physics	2010	For the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe through observations of distant supernovae	1959	2015
27	Ryoji Noyori	Chemistry	2001	For their work on chirally catalysed hydrogenation reactions	1938	2006 2009 2010 2015
28	Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard	Physiology or Medicine	1995	For their discoveries concerning the genetic control of early embryonic development	1942	1996 2003 2005 2007 2010
29	William D. Phillips	Physics	1997	For development of methods to cool and trap atoms with laser light	1948	2000 2001 2008 2012 2015: 2016: 2019



®

#	Name	Discipline	Year of Award	Reasoning for Award	Year of Birth	Attendance in Lindau
30	Sir Venkatraman Ramakrishnan	Chemistry	2009	For studies of the structure and function of the ribosome	1952	2015
31	Kailash Satyarthi	Peace	2014	for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education	1954	2015
32	Brian P. Schmidt	Physics	2011	For the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe through observations of distant supernovae	1967	2012 2014 2015 2016 2017 2019
33	Dan Shechtman	Chemistry	2011	For the discovery of quasicrystals	1941	2012 2013 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019
34	Robert J. Shiller	Economic Sciences	2013	For their empirical analysis of asset prices	1946	
35	Wole Soyinka	Literature	1986	who in a wide cultural perspective and with poetic overtones fashions the drama of existence	1934	2015
36	Jean Tirole	Economic Sciences	2014	For his analysis of market power and regulation	1953	2017
37	M. Stanley Whittingham	Chemistry	2019	For the development of lithium-ion batteries	1941	
38	Sir Gregory P. Winter	Chemistry	2018	For the phage display of peptides and antibodies	1951	