

## 70th Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting

28 June – 3 July 2020 Interdisciplinary

## Participating Laureates (as of 11 February 2020)

68 Nobel Laureates and one Laureate of the ACM Prize in Computing

3 Nobel Laureates from 2019

William G. Kaelin, Jr. (Medicine or Physiology)

Michel Mayor (Physics)

M. Stanley Whittingham (Chemistry)

12 Nobel Laureates participate for the first time

Frances H. Arnold, Barry C. Barish, Michael S. Brown, Mario R. Capecchi, Andre K. Geim, Richard Henderson, William G. Kaelin, Jr., Michel Mayor, George P. Smith, Olga Tokarczuk, M. Stanley Whittingham, Sir Gregory P. Winter

7 Female Laureates to attend

Frances H. Arnold, Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard, Donna Strickland, Olga Tokarczuk, Ada F. Yonath

13 different nationalities are represented

– 1x Canada – 2x Netherlands

5x France
 1x Norway
 10x Germany
 1x Poland

4x Israel2x Switzerland

1x Italy10x United Kingdom

– 2x Japan – 29x USA

1x Mexico

10 German Laureates to attend

J. Georg Bednorz, Johann Deisenhofer, Joachim Frank, Theodor W. Hänsch, Harald zur Hausen, Stefan W. Hell, Robert Huber, Klaus von Klitzing, Erwin Neher, Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard



- Participating Laureates according to discipline
  - 27 Laureates in Chemistry
  - 22 Laureates in Physics
  - 18 Laureates in Physiology or Medicine
  - 1 Laureate in Literature
  - 1 Laureate of the ACM Prize in Computing
- Most participations so far
   Robert Huber (23)
- Starting with 1973 there will be Nobel Laureates from 34 different years

## Edmond H. Fischer's 100th Birthday

- Date of Birth: 6 April 1920
- Place of Birth: Shanghai
- Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1992
- Prize Motivation: "for their discoveries concerning reversible protein phosphorylation as a biological regulatory mechanism"
- Co-Recipient: Edwin G. Krebs (6 June 1918 21 December 2009)
- Number of attended Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings: 11
- Last attendance: 2015
- All Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings: 2015, 2014, 2013, 2011, 2010, 2007,
   2003, 2000, 1999, 1996, 1993

## Contact

Wolfgang Haaß
Head of Communications
wolfgang.haass@lindau-nobel.org
Tel. +49 8382-27731-26